Archive for 2013

November 22nd, 2013

Andy Mooney Speaks Out (Quiksilver’s CEO)

“If you are going to contribute to the ASP, you have to figure out what you are getting for it… If you are not getting access to the content, not getting exposure for your brand and athletes, it’s not clear to me why we should be involved.”

Mooney claimed that the ASP had adopted the business model of the American NFL, except that, “Unlike the NFL, they don’t pay any of the athletes – that’s a big distinction in my mind. We (the brands) are all paying the athletes.” He concluded that, “Asking the industry to contribute without sharing any of the benefits back to the brands that contributed – I don’t understand the logic of that.” – Andy Mooney


November 20th, 2013

Greg Long Up For Adventurer Of The Year By National Geographic

Allow us to introduce the outstanding individuals who made our year in adventure with their remarkable achievements in exploration, adventure sports, conservation, and humanitarianism. Each embodies a unique spirit of adventure. It’s up to you to decide who will be the People’s Choice Adventurer of the Year.Get to know the honorees by clicking on their names or pictures to access in-depth profiles and photos. Then vote every day for the People’s Choice until January 31, 2014. We will announce the winner in February 2014. – National Geographic

“As I was dangling from the basket of the Coast Guard helicopter, being lifted from the middle of the ocean in huge seas after basically drowning, I said to myself, ‘There’s no way. I’m done. Thank you for this second chance at life. I don’t need big-wave surfing anymore.” – Greg Long


November 20th, 2013

Donavon Frankenreiter Music and Surfing Photos

We have begun uploading images of Donavon Frankenreiter onto his page – Photos by Jack English

North Shore Oahu

Santora’s – Mission Viejo

Salt Creek

Del Mar

Western Australia

San Simeon


Puerto Rico

Morro Bay (with his wife Petra and son Hendrix)


Ocean Beach – San Francisco

Piedras Blancas – San Simeon


Dave Matthews (Donavon was opening up for Dave, and this is Dave introducing Donavon to the crowd)

Donavon opening for the Dave Matthews band


November 19th, 2013

The First Water Housing Under $1,000 By SPL

SPL advertising in the newest issue of Surfing magazine

November 19th, 2013

Kirk Passmore’s Final Wave Filmed By Larry Haynes

November 9th, 2013

Gone Fishin’

We hope all of you have a wonderful week as we will be on vacation in Yosemite and will continue our blog postings when we return. – Surf Images

November 7th, 2013

Surf Brands Vissla and D’Blanc By Paul Naude

Paul Naude (former CEO of Billabong USA) has just launched two new surf brands


D’BLANC (that is longboarder Troy Elmore in the video)

November 7th, 2013

Torrey Meister Wins O’Neill Coldwater Classic

Torrey Meister claimed the 2013 O’Neill Coldwater Classic title today earning the enviable winner-take-all yearlong O’Neill sponsorship worth $50,000. With an unconventional new format pitting 16 mostly unsponsored surfers against each other for one grand prize, the ASP Specialty Event ran today in pumping conditions at Steamer Lane.

Round One’s draw set the event up for local triumphs, upsets, and legitimate opportunities for each competitor to prove they could compete on the elite level. The biggest upset came at the hands of Huntington Beach’s Billy Hopkins when he eliminated Granger Larson, who is currently one position away from qualifying for the 2014 World Tour. Santa Cruz’s Shaun Burns and Noi Kaulukukui used their local wave knowledge to defeat Cory Arrambide, a successful amateur competitor from California, and Dion Atkinson, No. 35 on the One World Rankings, respectively.

The Quarters kicked off with a Hawaiian heat between Hank Gaskell and Torrey Meister. Meister started off quick with a nine-point wave (the highest of the event up to that point) for a massive air punt on the inside section. Gaskell was unable to come back, ultimately earning Meister a Finals berth after defeating Ricardo Christie in the Semis. Local favorite Noi Kaulukukui upset Chris Waring, a runner-up in the 2008 O’Neill Coldwater Classic, in a tight heat, but lost to Australian Wade Carmichael in the Semis.

The Final was characterized by multiple lead changes, as Meister and Carmichael went wave for wave in a seesaw battle. Late in the heat, Meister led with twin 6.67s, leaving Carmichael searching for a 6.54. However, the ocean did not cooperate, and Meister took the win. Along with the trophy, Meister earned a yearlong sponsorship from O’Neill worth $50,000 to pursue his elite pro surfing aspirations.

When asked about the win, Meister responded: “I’m excited about riding for O’Neill. It’s been a long time since I’ve had a sticker on the nose of my board. It’s been great that O’Neill put this event on for us. They seem like cool people and I’m excited to ride for them.”


November 7th, 2013

Phone Cameras Outselling Point and Shoots

“Already, this year, there has been more phone cameras sold than point and shoots. One main reason: Phone cameras can now do pretty much what any point and shoot delivers but are less bulky to carry, have multiple other useful functions and we carry them all the time.” – Why mobile stock is the future of the industry.

November 6th, 2013

Invitees To The Quiksilver In Memory Of Eddie Aikau

2013/2014 Invitees
(their is way to much politics to even begin going into details on why some of these surfers are even on this list. Maybe one day we can have a comp of just the best big wave surfers which would make it way more interesting to watch. Example when is the last time we have seen 52 year old Tom Carroll charging Waimea?)

Aaron Gold
Bruce Irons
Carlos Burle
Clyde Aikau
Dave Wassel
Garrett McNamara
Grant Baker
Greg Long
Ian Walsh
Jamie Obrien
Jamie Sterling
Jeremy Flores
John John Florece
Kala Alexander
Kohl Christensen
Makua Rothman
Mark Healey
Natahn Fletcher
Noah Johnson
Peter Mel
Reef Mcintosh
Ramon Navarro
Ross Clarke-Jones
Shane Dorian
Sunny Garcia
Takayuki Wakita
Tom Carroll

Alternates in order
(A * marks who we think should be invited)
Mason Ho
Danilo Couto
Michael Ho
Kalani Chapman
Danny Fuller
Ben Wilkinson
Kahea Hart
Ross Williams*
Albee Layer
Jamie Mitchell
Alex Gray*
Keoni Watson
Koa Rothman
Kealii Mamala
Nathan Florence
Evan Valiere
Mark Mathews
Gabriel Villaran*
Billy Kemper
Rusty Long
Kai Lenny
Myles Padaca
Derek Dunfee
Shawn Dollar*

Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau Invitees Announced